In most French regions, the Grandes Ecoles of engineers, management, architecture, art, journalism or political science are federated into regional groups whatever their status or guardianship. Thus, in the French regions where such conferences are long established (Nord Pas de Calais, Rhône Alpes Auvergne, PACA, Loire, Midi Pyrenees, etc.), they include internal schools to universities, schools belonging to national networks, autonomous institutions, private schools, regional centers of national institutions, etc. In these areas, the constitution of these associations appears as structuring and promotes the radiation of all regional higher education while boosting the attractiveness of territories.

The Lorraine Region is home to 24 Large Schools distributed on the dorsal Metz – Nancy – Epinal that long, collaborate and implement joint actions. These schools, regardless of their institutional affiliation, wanted to give this ancient culture of collaborative work, a new dimension by coming together in a Regional Conference than the usual geographic and institutional boundaries.

At a time when the economic environment is increasingly international and competitive, everyone understood that it was necessary to leverage the entire ecosystem to which it belongs and to strengthen its local roots. In this context, it is more useful than ever to share experiences and to appropriate discussions and reflections that correspond to the major issues and challenges that confront us.

The diversity of the parties represented in Lorraine (training of engineers, management, architecture, art, political science) is a great wealth for the purpose of exchange of a school family to another and establishment of partnerships are numerous. Such an assembly is undeniably a source of differentiating elements throughout the Lorraine that can only reflect positively on all the regional higher education.

Geographical distribution of major schools
Graduates flow per school
Trainings distribution
Double degrees created by the conference

AgroParisTech Nancy

Arts et Métiers – Campus de Metz

Centrale Supélec – Campus de Metz

CESI Lorraine

CNAM Lorraine

Collégium Lorraine INP de l’Université de Lorraine

École Européenne d’Ingénieurs en Génie des Matériaux

École Nationale Supérieure de Géologie

École Nationale Supérieure des Industries Chimiques

École Nationale Supérieure des Technologies et Industries du Bois

École Nationale Supérieure d’Agronomie et des Industries Alimentaires

École Nationale Supérieure d’Art et de Design de Nancy

École Nationale Supérieure d’Électricité et de Mécanique

École Nationale Supérieure en Génie des Systèmes et de l’Innovation

École Supérieure des Sciences et Technologies de l’Ingénieur de Nancy

École Supérieure d’Art de Lorraine

École Supérieure d’Ingénieurs des Travaux de la Construction de Metz

Georgia Tech Lorraine

ICN Business School Nancy-Metz

Mines Nancy

Sciences Po Paris – Campus de Nancy

Telecom Nancy


Lorenzo Diez ­– président


Pierre Chevrier ­­– vice-président


Yves Granjon – secrétaire général


Marcel Poinsignon – trésorier